another morning


another morning

Originally uploaded by micahnova

Just like the warbler and the wren, I can rise to the occasion no matter what day it is. But there are people like me who don’t naturally get up in the matins hour of prayer. Sleep beckons me to fall back in to the shadows with her. As a child, my mother would throw a warm wash cloth on my face and sing songs like “Zippitty do-dah” and tell me about worms that certain early birds would be rewarded with. Worms didn’t interest me, and sometimes I’d still just lie there with a wet wash cloth on my face until I heard the bus lurching up the next street over… I’ve heard of mothers singing songs to night owls such as “Get up, Get Up!, GET UP!” only to hear their babies respond with “Shut up, Shut Up, SHUT UP!” But there is something special about the early fragile beginning of every day.

~ by micahnova on February 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
