between trees


between trees

Originally uploaded by micahnova

Currently, I’m reading a book called “Free Play” that I bought after seeing it on a friend’s coffee table, and so far, its pretty good. It has some good advise about art-making through the use of improvisation. In fact, Nachmanovitch argues that if an artist attempts to plan every detail of the process out in advance, then very little art goes into the actual piece (instead, it gets stopped up in the planning stages, which no one witnesses, unfortunately). The book encourages the reader to take the spirit of improvisation into one’s art and life. Let go of outcomes, basically. There, now you don’t have to read it. For me, there seems to be a balance between honing my craft and hoarding it. If I’m hoarding, I’m usually not having much fun and taking myself way too seriously. I’ve felt these effects in this series as well. I feel as though I’m an adult learning to play freely as children do naturally, if allowed. That really is the scope of this project: learn to play within an approximate 3″ x 3.5″ boundary (today, pink).

~ by micahnova on March 21, 2008.

3 Responses to “between trees”

  1. Regarding your question on EDM-I haven’t done a series of anything, except daily procrastination. Your series is wonderful in my opinion. It says something every entry either with or without words. The drawings are colorful, interesting, uplifting captivating, or just plain delightful. Looking at the entire blog made me feel better about my day. Thank you.

  2. my pleasure! thank you for the kind words

  3. There are some lovely compositions here – this one is quite Morandi-ish with the trees just nudging the horizon line.

Leave a Reply

 
