in the shadow


in the shadow

Originally uploaded by micahnova

I did this piece as an homage to one of my favorite artists, J. Ryan Buller (who also happens to be a good friend). Buller’s work can best be described as “mrafy,” which means it has the qualities and character of a mraf. Ancient robots, weird birds, tribes of the spear-carrying status quo, gears, and GUI ephemera abound in his oil paintings and watercolor works. In the mid to late 90’s Ryan and I collaborated on several paintings as well as a website called “aussiefax.com.” Today, we both run our separate online galleries, and I often find myself popping over to Ryan’s mraf.com just to see what he’s up to these days. My work today has a bit of the mraf in it thanks to Mr. Buller, and I believe that’s a good thing.

Addendum: I just discovered that Ryan posted about my art on his blog today about an hour before I did… how strange is that?? Check out his Giant Mechanical Square blog as well.

~ by micahnova on April 4, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
