a sparkler for 3am

 


a sparkler for 3am

Originally uploaded by micahnova

Meet Jessica Sparks, an average 3 year old with a tuffle and toss of onyx brunette hair and the normal pudge of every cookies&cream ice-cream-loving kid. No one would know she was blessed with anything extra ordinary– but she was. Every other Tuesday night, long after she had been tucked into bed and after her parents were fast asleep, she would wake up, put on her orange rain coat and boots, and become the Orange Twinkler. With a single sparkler, she would go out into her back yard, stand at the top of the knoll, hold her sparkler high and sing,

Twinkle diddle dee
Twinkle diddle dee
Let my sparkler be
A twinkly wink to see

And with sudden brilliance, her sparkler would burst open the night- and anyone passing by at 3am every other Tuesday would see her sparkler, breathe a sigh of relief, and say, “My! That’s just what I needed.”

~ by micahnova on June 30, 2008.

6 Responses to “a sparkler for 3am”

  1. LOL! I love it! 🙂

  2. I think the drawing is very poetic, even without the story. You watch it and you just have fantasy stories going in your mind… (well, I do!). It’s very nice.

  3. I love sparklers see my #173 -and I love the story – I think I will go out @ 3:00 am on the 4th with my sparler and look for Jessica
    http://hammeredplayer.blogspot.com/

  4. and that’s just what I needed too. Thanks for sharing a wonderful story and drawing!

  5. That’s very cute and sweet… and it fits the picture perfectly 🙂

  6. What a cute post, and the drawing is lovely! I really enjoy your blog and your stories.

Leave a Reply

 
