will work for peanuts


will work for peanuts

Originally uploaded by micahnova

Thank you for stopping by to watch the circus! I wonder where the circus is going next? It was a lot of fun for me to do an epic story. The circus theme was partially inspired by a novel I picked up in an airport book store recently called “Water for Elephants” by Sara Gruen. I felt slightly annoyed reading the book and discovering that it was given the grand Disney-esque ending. I know people who read the last page of a novel first, and if it’s not completely jolly rancher, they will refuse to read the rest of it. I guess that’s why I took my circus elephant story down tragedy lane. Gruen’s novel was filled with quite a few interesting facts about circus history. One thing that interested me was that when tragedy struck during a performance, the circus brass band would strike up the tune “Stars and Stripes Forever” in order to send a signal to the emergency crew of an accident. Now… back to your regularly scheduled Trudge!

~ by micahnova on August 21, 2008.

2 Responses to “will work for peanuts”

  1. Micah, I’ve really enjoyed this series. Thanks! (and I guess I hope that the elephant can find a bunch of elephant acrobats because frankly, the ball would bore me too… although maybe that’s too Disney 😉 )

  2. I liked the book but I read to escape reality and live in “happy ever after” land for a while. Besides, now that I am getting older I worry about those nasty old nursing homes (I’ve worked in them and know how nasty they can be). Escape sounded really good to me and I was rooting for him.

Leave a Reply

 
