sleeping it off in Luxembourg Park

After a challenging day of gallery intern work (more on that later), I decided to catch the end of the Botanical Gardens “Best of Missouri Market” show. Expensive to get in, but still worth it. Artisans selling their jewelry, pots, sushi plates, and furniture eagerly awaited that one sale that would help them break even for the day. Missouri wineries and producers of food gladly dished out samples for browsers. Two scruffy-looking guys stood at attention behind plates of bread crumbs for passersby wishing to sample the wares of the Black Bear Bakery (the anti-authoritarian, anti-ideological bakery). They looked so serious that I had to turn away to keep from laughing. Flowers from Schnucks. Root beer from Fitz’s. I was disappointed not to find any producers of tea with tea bags (to add to my tea tag collection). I did buy some wildflower honey from Gibbons’ Bee Farm, some pesto from Ozark Forest Mushrooms (run by a group of people all with British accents), and some hand-made vegan soap from Irie Star which contained cedarwood, myrrh, and bergamoy. What a smell! Perhaps I will become a Missouri Botanical Garden member to avoid the cover charge next year. It is definitely one of my favorite places to go for a bit of quiet and peace in the midst of the St. Louis swing and shuffle.

Today’s Trudger Drawing is EDM Challenge #184 | Draw a Park Bench

~ by micahnova on October 5, 2008.

2 Responses to “sleeping it off in Luxembourg Park”

  1. I love it. Your story is great – british accented Ozark guys? And your newest picture is a treat. It doesn’t get any of my EDM challenges done, but I sure enjoy swinging by to see what you’ve been up to.

  2. I love the MBG. It’s one of my favorite places to go for a nice long walk and enjoy the beauty of nature.

Leave a Reply

 
