day boy begins his day




day boy begins his day

Originally uploaded by micahnova

Years ago, I was cat-sitting for a friend in her apartment when I pulled a book of fairy tales from her book shelf by George MacDonald. Having never read anything by him before, I felt like a hobo accidentally stumbling into one of the most beautiful gardens in the world. My favorite fairy tale from the collection was–and continues to be–“The Day Boy and the Night Girl, The Romance of Photogen and Nycteris.” Since beginning the Trudger project, the idea of doing a series of drawings depicting this story has entered my mind, but I didn’t want to just muscle my way through the rendering process. I wanted the day to come when it would just flow out naturally. Whether this happened or if I just had no other ideas in my bank that day, “Day Boy Begins His Day” is the first of two Trudger drawings in homage to my favorite fairy tale (tomorrow’s will be the second part, so stay tuned). You can read the full story of Photogen and Nycteris HERE.

~ by micahnova on October 24, 2008.

One Response to “day boy begins his day”

  1. Sometimes a story really hits a chord and you never forget it. For me there were two from high school – Fahrenheit 451 and Lord of the Flies. Neither one was a sweet story, they are haunting.

Leave a Reply

 
