pacific line at sunset




pacific line at sunset

Originally uploaded by micahnova

What is it about a cold autumn day that makes it easier to hear train horns blowing in the distance then on a warmer day? As I type, this cold dark Missouri morning is getting off to a start with a heavy fall of rain, and I can distinctly hear a train even though I am no where near any tracks. This drawing was inspired by a short film I recently saw called “Toccata for Toy Trains” by Ray and Charles Eames. I highly recommend checking their short films out on the 6 DVD volume set “The Films of Charles and Ray Eames.” It costs about $80, or you could do what I did and rent it through Netflix! You will see short films about toy trains, tops, chairs, bread, astrophysics, how computers work (made in the 1960’s) and more. I have definitely found this inspiring.

~ by micahnova on November 11, 2008.

One Response to “pacific line at sunset”

  1. I really love this image. I keep coming back to it. I can’t tell if it’s the whumsy of the colors, the mystery of who or what the train is for (&where is it going?), or those tall, tall spindly trees against that sky. Anyway, it’s compelling me to look at it repeatedly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
