walking on a ridge




walking on a ridge

Originally uploaded by micahnova

Last week I adopted a 3 year old cat from stray rescue who at first did what stray rescue cats tend to do: hide. Unfortunately, she found the dirtiest spot in my house that I did not even know existed: up the chimney on a small ledge. My decision to let her stay there resulted in a soot-covered house the next morning when I awoke. “That’s it,” I said to myself, “this cat is coming out of hiding right now.” So I wedged myself into the fireplace and pulled a loudly protesting cat from her hiding spot. Filthy cat and owner fell backward out of the flu with a puff of black powdery dust to follow. After cleaning and showering, I was sure I would have a hate-filled cat on my hands, but that evening after talking to her in her new hiding spot (under the futon) she came out and wanted to be petted! Ever since then, I’ve had a “meowing” cat following me around the house everywhere I go. If I’m sitting in a chair, so is she. If I’m sleeping in my bed, so is she. She loves to be picked up and held, and has even dozed off in my lap. Wow… trust! Now, if I could only figure out how to keep her from sharpening those close on my stairway carpet! For a first-time cat owner though, I’m very happy with the experience so far. I’ll post some drawings of her soon on My Posterous (see the side-bar link). In the meantime, can you find the 3 Trudger drawings that have a cat in them? If you can, there is a prize for you. Good luck… it took me about 5 minutes to find the third.

~ by micahnova on December 20, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
